Adjusting Hydraulic Brakes

j1mb0
j1mb0 Posts: 35
edited February 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi, I'm pretty new to Hydraulic brakes only got my first bike with them this week, which makes me a total noobie :lol: after a few days of use, the brakes seamed to have loosened. I brought my bike (Mongoose Tyax Super 08) from wiggle and it arrive perfectly I checked it over and no problems breaks were solid just how i like them, he he any help on tightening the disk brakes would be much appreciated,there are a few pictures below click them to make them bigger, thank you
Jim

th_DSC00060.jpg
th_DSC00059.jpg
th_DSC00057.jpg
th_DSC00056.jpg
Mongoose Tyax Super 08

Comments

• tmg
    tmg Posts: 651
    what do you mean by loosened?

The calipers, the rotors have come lose? Or the feel of them has loosened?
  • j1mb0
    edited February 2008
    Hi thanks for the reply, the front brake doesn't feel as sharp it basically seems like it isn't pushing tightly against the disk. Thanks

Jim
    Mongoose Tyax Super 08
  • Hey mate, nice bike! I suggest you check under the brake leavers for a dial, I think they might have one. Rushing this post a bit but look for adjustments or dials.

I shouldn't think you would have to bleed the brakes as there new and should be perfect!
    Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Elite 2010
    Mongoose Tyax Elite 2007
    Carrera Limited Edition TDF

Full suspension - King of the forest!

If anyone rides in Sulham Wood give me a shout :).
  • BlackSpur
    BlackSpur Posts: 4,228
    The brakes will need breaking in before they perform to their full potential.
    "Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling." ~James E. Starrs
  • j1mb0
    edited February 2008
    Hi thanks for the reply s guys i have taken a look and i cant see any dials on the handlebars or brakes only screws going to where the fluid is,

Ive take a few more photos, thanks

th_DSC00063.jpg
    th_DSC00062.jpg
    th_DSC00061.jpg
    Mongoose Tyax Super 08
  • joed05
    joed05 Posts: 794