frame for fixed in winter and gears in summer?

johnnypipe85
johnnypipe85 Posts: 145
edited February 2008 in Road general
Hi guys!
I've been riding fixed for a few months now and really enjoying it!
unfortunally, as I'm getting married(nice thing), I'm going to move to a smaller flat(sad thing) without a bike room(sad thing) and I'll have to reduce the number of bikes I can keep(very sad thing!!!).

So, I was thinking of getting a road bike which could be easily converted between fixed gear and gears by just changing the rear wheel and the chain, and taking off the rear mech.(I would have only one ring on the front).

Do I need to look for a particular type of frame? (any ideas?) I would think that a normal track frame wouldn't have enough space to for a full cassette...

Thanks for your help.

Jon

Comments

• GaryGkn
    GaryGkn Posts: 1,199
    I think you may be after the Surly Crosscheck or something of a similar name. The frame has horizontal dropouts which enable the use of fixed gear. You could convert an old road frame again one that has horizontal and not vertical drop outs. Or just ride fix all the time. Having a summer gear and a winter gear to suit.
  • Or a standard geared bike with an eno rear hubbed wheel
  • meagain
    meagain Posts: 2,331
    As above. Though I think that an eno is an expensive solution - a frame with horizontal drop outs and a mech hanger is the easiest way.
    d.j.
    "Cancel my subscription to the resurrection."
  • thanks guys!
  • I have a Salsa Casseroll for this exact purpose. £375 for the frameset and build it up how you wish. Lovely frame. Looked at the crosscheck too, but as that has canti mounts I didn't like the look as much when running with no rear brake.
  • GaryGkn
    Run it with a rear brake!
  • belgiangoth
    belgiangoth Posts: 2,849