Drinking water

Pippen33
Pippen33 Posts: 235
edited February 2008 in Health, fitness & training
I've been working for a water company, United Utilities for the past 9 months, but I've only just realised what the water goes through before you actually drink it...

" Water treatment technology must deal with a number of potential perils resulting from the movement of water from its source to our tap. Mountain springs might flow through sulfur, zinc or arsenic-laden formations. Groundwater can pick up contamination from fertilizers, septic tanks, mine drainage, naturally occurring minerals, industrial chemicals and metals such as arsenic and chromium. Rivers and streams sometimes carry harmful microorganisms from animals or humans, presenting a risk of disease. Storm drains can carry polluted runoff from cities into rivers and streams."... and from the website from which this is coped, this is just the beginning.

This is from a city reservoir. Though, luckily, mine comes directly from the lake district, Ennerdale Lake, to be precise.

And
spammer

Comments

• Will Snow
    Will Snow Posts: 1,154
    cant say i really care. been drinking it all me life, and im not dead yet...
    i ride a hardtail
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    I'm a rower, the water coming out of my tap is the least of my worries...
  • Good old water eh..

Luckily its treated after all that, otherwise it wouldnt be fit for consumption.
    Do it.
  • Luckily its treated after all that, otherwise it wouldnt be fit for consumption.
    Ours isn't, until it's been through a Brita filter to get rid of the metallic taste...
    Even if the voices aren't real, they have some very good ideas.
  • Will Snow
    i think the meattalic taste probably comes from your tap :D
    i ride a hardtail
  • strodey
    strodey Posts: 481
    I'm sure the ammount of money i pay thames water means its safe!