Upgrading Bike Parts...Buying help Needed

Andysimp
Andysimp Posts: 4
edited January 2008 in MTB buying advice
Hi there everyone!
Im a newbie here and this is my first time post :D
I have a GT Tequesta 18" Frame all standard apart from i have Rock Shox Judy XCS forks with 80mm travel. I haven't used the bike in a good few years and have now decided to upgrade/update most of the parts but keep the same frame, sort of a wee project.
Im looking at getting new forks (Longer travel as will be starting downhill biking in sumer), hydraulic disk brakes, stronger wheels, better crank etc.. and so on!
What do you people think would be best parts to upgrade first and any reccomendations on good disk brakes, forks etc..
I can spend a Couple hundred pounds each month but don't want to go too over the top.
Any help welcomed and i'll keep you all up to date with my progress!
Thanks
Andy

Comments

• zero303
    zero303 Posts: 1,162
    The frame won't be up to forks of much higher travel (it will mess up the geometry and ride position as well as put stress on the headtube that ti wasn't designed for, read possible snapped frame). 100mm is probably the absolute limit.

When you say "start downhill biking" do you mean riding down trails with some steep hills or do you mean actual downhill mountain biking? If you mean actual downhill mountain biking, you need a new project. Even if you don't mean real downhilling, the money might be better spent on a new frame or saving for a new bike, you get a lot for you money these days!

For downhilling, if budget is tight it might not be a bad idea to invest in a really hardcore hardtail and build that up around some long travel forks, or, save even harder and get an actual downhill/freeride full suss frame.

Unless you have some overwhelming attachment to the bike, I'd start from scratch :wink:
  • Yeah that was my other thought, just buy a solid new hardtail frame and start building that up! :lol: