single/fixed wheel

stefano
stefano Posts: 254
edited February 2008 in Road general
Hi, It is time to change rear wheel on my single speed bike so I would like your advice :) .
I need a solid wheel for my 25 miles daily commute in London, with the following characteristics:
1. Very smooth cartridge bearings, easy to buy and change
2. Good rim that will not wear out soon from breaking
3. Light weight, for my weekend training

Any ideas for ready wheels or hand build are better?
I have never tried before but is it good idea building the wheel myself :?:

Many thanks :)

PS: I have checked but there are not so many single/fixed wheels on the market

Comments

• you could build your own (or have your ideal wheel built for you depending on your budget.)

what about a DURA-ACE HB-7600 hub, with DURA-ACE cog, DT spokes and OPEN PRO 36H rim?
  • maybe something from here:
    :?:
    http://www.yogarup.com/wheels/
  • andyp
    andyp Posts: 10,104
    The only 'factory' built fixed wheels you can get tend to be for track use so won't be up to the rigors of commuting in London.

Arup has a very good reputation from what I hear on other web forums.

Alternatively you could get somewhere like Condor to build you one. I had a pair built last year by Outspoken Cycles who are based in Cambridge. I went for Goldtec hubs with Ambrosio Excellence rims and the wheels have been superb so far with no maintenance required. The Goldtec hubs do seem to be up to the punishment a London winter can dish out.
  • stefano
    Many thanks guys :D:D
    I am now really thinking to build my own wheels.
    For the rim I would definitely go for Mavic Open Pro.

Now for the hubs I really like the Goldtec but I find them quite expensive.
    What about System-Ex (I think they are the same with Formula, Zenith or IRO), are they much inferior to Goldtec?

:):)
  • andyp
    The Open Pro is a great rim.