Polar vrs Blackburn Delphi vrs Garmin Computers

milese
milese Posts: 1,233
edited January 2008 in Workshop
After having to return my 2nd YPK Cronopulse to wiggle due to it being rubbish I thought I should spend more and get something better.

Sorry if this has been covered a thousand times but after buying something that doesn't work very well I would like some owner opinions. I'm quite new to serious cycling and have just started training for a 100m sportive so all the help with training intensities / performance monitoring will be helpful.

I want a computer that:
All usual speed, ave, distance etc
HRM
HRM zone warnings / monitoring
Back light
decent easy to read display

Would like if worth while / cheap enough:
cadence
altimeter
computer upload

Would also be nice if I can easily transfer it over to my MTB as well.

I've got an old Polar watch HRM with T31 HRM band, will this band work with the Polar HRMs that have the HRM band as an option?

I know that the Garmin Edge is probably the bee's knees, but is obviously more expensive than the others, but does have extra features. Do people tend they use these features and think they're worth the extra dough?

Their are some good deals around on the Blackburn Delphi 5.0 & 6.0's, anyone got one? Any views / problems? How does wired cadence work? Where does the sensor go?

Any other options / suggestions / recommendations would be great.

Thanks all.

Comments

• brit66
    brit66 Posts: 350
    Well, I've got a Blackburn Delphi 4.0 and since late week, a new Garmin 305 and I have to say the Garmin will do all you want and more.

The screen view is editable so the things that are important to you can be made more conspiquous by choosing one of several templates. Another great advantage is that you just turn it on and off you go - no imputing wheel sizes, adding a wheel sensor, etc. A direct spin-off of this is you can move it from bike-to-bike no problem; it's even supplied with two bike mounts.
  • e999sam