Bike shoes for big feet.. .. .. .. ..?

Cheshley
Cheshley Posts: 1,448
edited January 2008 in MTB beginners
Hello,

Am I the only person here who is completely brassed off with shoe manufacturers in general but particularly with the manufacturers of biking-specific shoes.....?

I am kinda new to this lark but I have treated myself to a new off road bike (2008 Specialized FSR XC Comp) and also a flat bar road bike (2008 Scott Speedster S30). I have decided that SPD pedals and shoes are the way to go for the road bike and have received some nice shiny Shimano pedals as a freebie with my subscription to What Mountain Bike magazine.

My problem has been in getting SPD compatible shoes to fit my big feet. Those I have tried in my usual size of 48 have all been too small and I have been told that bike shoes in general are very small fitting, but all of the manufacurers I have tried stop at a size 48. I would also like some shoes for flat pedals for off-road riding and I am having the same problem.

Does anyone else have this problem or does anyone else have any suggestions as to where I am going to find SPD and Flat shoes in sizes 49 or maybe even size 50?

Any help would be much appreciated. :cry:
1998 Marin Hawk Hill
2008 Specialized FSR XC Comp
2008 Scott Speedster S30 FB

SLOW RIDES FOR UNFIT PEOPLE - Find us on Facebook or in the MTB Rides section of this forum.

Comments

• Specialized go to 49, Shimano up to 50. Don't know if an LBS would be willing to order any in "just in case" they fitted, so mail order might be your best bet as you would probably have more luck returning them.
    eg.
    http://www.ultimatepursuits.co.uk/products/details.aspx?ref=14074&pRef=78799&vertical=1&v=VARBM075

Edit: They go to those sizes in some shoes, not all. Your LBS will have a dealer catalogue which will tell them what sizes they are available in
  • GT Destroyer
    GT Destroyer Posts: 1,719