My first Proper MTB...

2Thumbs
2Thumbs Posts: 15
edited January 2008 in MTB beginners
Hello there,

After about a week of looking through the forum, I've decided to pop my head over the fence and post a thread. ;) Excellent community here and a wealth of a resource for info.

Anyway, after many weeks of looking I feel I've decided on my next bike. I am new to MTB though as I've been doing BMX since I was around 6.

The Bike I've chosen is a '06 Giant XTC EX. For £590, any other bike in the price range just doesn't compare in terms of components.

I do have a question though, will it fit me?:

It's only a 14" frame. I'm by no means tall but I just wanted a bit of confirmation.

I'm about 5'6" tall with a 27-28" inside leg.

My arm length is around 20" and the top tube length of the bike is 21.5(ish)".

TBH I would prefer something that's a bit smaller as I'd feel it's more "chuckable".

All opinions are welcome ofcourse on the bike itself and size.

Thanks, Chris. :D

Comments

• schmako
    schmako Posts: 1,982
    Should be good i'm 5'11 and have a 17" xc frame, 16" fr. For the ups you can always put the seat up anyway!
  • woodywmb
    woodywmb Posts: 669
    I think It will be too small. I have the 19" Giant XTC Ex and I'm 5ft 8. I had a 17" GT prior to that but found the frame too small. If you buy it (no one seems to have anything bigger than 14" left) you are likely to persevere as I did with the GT. But all the time I needed something slightly bigger. You couldn't do better for the money than the Ex. It's a super bike, very light and great fork. I can't find fault with it. As Supersonic will be on to tell you, it is vital you sit on a bike before buying it. If indeed you can't see past the Ex, I would phone around in the hope of picking up a 17". There might be one in some cycle shop somewhere. You would be well rewarded for finding one. Good luck.
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    2Thumbs wrote: