given up smoking

2»

Comments

• DR650s wrote:
    well im only 16 and ive been smoking properly for about 2 years now,i have given up for the grand total of 7 times and the longest has been for 5 months but i have decided thty last pack on friday would be my last ones.!!! wish me luck,the bike certainly has been whats motivating me to stop.although at my tender age i am afraid that i will be having the odd few at partys etc but that cant be that bad....can it...?

Yes unfortunately it is, I have been through this as well "I'll only smoke when I have a drink", "II'll only smoke other peoples fags", in the end you will go back smoking. My major regret is that I didn't stop smoking till I was 35, if only I knew at 18 what I know now I would never have started. At 16 the thought of dieing from smoking will be far from your mind, but you are damaging your body. I worry that having smoked for so long I have already done the damage.

But you also need to understand why you smoke and what the cigerette does, and how. I truely believe that I never enjoyed smoking, peer pressure made me start, and after that I was hooked on Nicotene, but I never enjoyed smoking. Once I understood that, and that stopping was about breaking the nicotene additcion, it was easy to stop, and I have never craved, or wanted another cigerette since.
    I did not resist smoking until that majical day when I wouldn't want one again, I just didn't want one, because I understood what smoking did to my body, and why I believed I needed them, and believe me I was hooked. Once I understood this, I just didn't want one anymore, and I owe that to Allen Carr.

Benefits....well I went from high blood pressure and out of breath, to "the resting heart rate and blood pressure of a proffessional athlete" according to two seperate paramedics. Obviously this is also due to a lot of training, but I would never have been able to do it smoking.