Tracks

murco
murco Posts: 14
edited December 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi i'm new to mtb and i'm wondering if anybody can tell me which tracks i can go on legaly
eg.byways, bridalways etc. :)
Cheers
Murco

Comments

• stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Can O worms time.

In England & Wales you have access to bridleways (OS 1:25000 dashed green line), BOAT (Byway open to all traffic, 1:25000 line of green crosses) and RUPPs (Road used a s a Public Path, 1:25000 dashed green line with dots on alternate sides of the dashes). The recent open access legislation doesn't apply to cyclists. Note that legally you have to give way to just about every other user of bridleways including pedestrians. :evil:

Scotland has it's own rules.

You can't cycle on footpaths, there is also a lot of debate whether you can even push or carry your bike on footpaths, depends which bit of the law you want to apply.

The law currently states that a pedestrian on a footpath is allowed to have a 'natural accompaniment" with them, whether a bike is a natural accompaniment is yet to be tested in law (Ramblers etc don't reckon it is).

However there are precedents for saying that a bike is a natural accompaniment for a pedestrian. In Cranks Vs Brooks a judge ruled that a pedestrian pushing a bike across a pedestrian crossing who was knocked was a pedestrian and not cyclist.

Needs some case law to clarify the point :( .

It's worth noting that riding on footpath is not a criminal offence, only a the civil offence of trespass and damages fines etc. have to in line with whatever harm you cause the land owner by trespassing. Most courts don't reckon tyre tracks constitute much harm.

If you want some more detail here's a lnky to a good article.

http://www.thebikezone.org.uk/thebikezo ... adlaw.html

Links to OS map keys:

1:25000

http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/oswebsi ... legend.pdf

1:50000

http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/oswebsi ... nd-Eng.pdf