North Yorkshire over Xmas, any suggestions?

GHill
GHill Posts: 2,402
edited December 2007 in MTB rides
I'm going to be staying with relatives in York over Christmas and I'm looking for somewhere to take my girlfriend mountain biking. She's not a total beginner but not massively confident when it gets a little hairy.

My first thoughts were Dalby/Stainburn, but I have no idea what the weather will do to these trails. Anyone care to share any experience of them? Essentially, if it's going to be thick mud or full of very slippery rock sections then it's not really suitable.

Any other suggestions for routes or destinations greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Dalby is ridable all year & the trails are holding up pretty well, there are diversions around the bombholes as they tend to fill up with water, but barring that it's a lot of fun. There are a few rock sections, but you can walk them as there are no chicken runs as yet.

You can also choose to just do sections of the red route if you want as it is about 23 miles long. You can get a map from the visitors centre.

Stainburn is (so I hear) quite technical.

Have a look on the trailbuilders website (for both Dalby & Stainburn)

http://www.singletraction.org.uk/index.php
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • Father Faff
    Father Faff Posts: 1,176
    Stainburn is a bit technical really. Dalby is your best bet if you want purpose built however a lot of the "natural" trails in the North York Moors and over here in the pennines/Dales have pretty hard all-weather surfaces. Get a decent guide to trails and rides and get out of the woods and enjoy big views and big spaces!
    Commencal Meta 5.5.1
    Scott CR1
  • GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    Thanks. I had no idea the natural trails would be ride-able this time of year, I'll take a look at some guide books.
  • Father Faff
    Father Faff Posts: 1,176