Giant XTC 1 2008 OR Diamonback Axis 2007 OR other? HELP!

jackbaps
jackbaps Posts: 15
edited November 2007 in MTB beginners
Hello, I am new to biking but am looking to start and do it very often so I wanted the best bike in my budget. I have MAX £950 to spend.

I have been looking for a while and have got it down to either the:

Diamondback Axis 2007

http://www.nationalcycles.co.uk/diamondback-axis.html

OR

Giant XTC 1 2008

http://www.nationalcycles.co.uk/giant-xtc-1-2008.html

with the Diamondback Apex 2007 coming close for VFM (value for money)

http://www.nationalcycles.co.uk/diamondback-apex.html

Which would you reccomend for me? Or are there other better ones out there?

I am looking for a bike to ride over a cross between road (for fairly long rides 15miles) and lots off road to .

I am in the dilema of which bike to get and would appriciate the help massively as I dont want to make a mistake. What are the above bikes like? Does one stand out from the rest? What order would you place them in from 1st - 3rd? (1st being the best etc)

Also I don't mind you suggesting others around the same price if you have any in mind, e.g. the saracen zen 3.

Thanks a lot, Jack Rawles.

Comments

• dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Jack

Of the three that you've shortlisted so far, the Giant is the highest specification. But then it is the most expensive!

To be honest, if this is your first MTB I'd be very wary about buying mail order. You would be far better off visiting a number of bike shops and seeing what they have to offer. You will then also be able to try the bikes for size, get first hand advice about fitting and specifications, and a reputable shop should be prepared to let you have a test ride. If you can tell us where you are in the country, we can probably poitn you in the right direction.