Biog53
Biog53 Posts: 3
edited November 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi am new here, i have had to lay off playing rugby for a couple of seasons now due to back problems etc and was thinking of getting into mountain biking.
The first problem is i am a student so is there any cheap bikes second hand or new that i can learn on and the second problem is i have never done mountain biking like before.
Any help would be great.

Cheers

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Hi amd welcome

What sort of budget are we looking at? May well be worth reading some of the existing threads to get a feel of what is available.
  • Looking at a max of £100 unfortunately due to being a student not looking for anyhing special (luckily) just something that i can learn on, bend, abuse and then progress upwards, even a cheap frame will do and i can buy bits as an when i can afford it.

Cheers
  • supersonic
    I am a big fan of budget bikes, but I feel £100 is pushing it - they simply cant take the abuse, and usually due to older designs of the frames are not readily upgradable.

2nd hand is an option, but you need to know what you are buying, and be prepared to put the maintenance in. Steer away from anything with rear suspension, or steel framed.
  • dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    supersonic wrote:
    Steer away from anything with rear suspension, or steel framed.

The rear suspension I can understand, but why steel frames? Steel frames (provided that they are cro-mo or cro-mang, and not so-called "high-tensile") will outlast an aluminium frame by a country mile every time. In addition a good quality steel frame has a more forgiving ride and is easily repaired.

If I was buying second had I'd have a cro-mo steel frame before anything else. Except titanium perhaps, but I think that MIGHT be a little outside this chap's budget.
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • supersonic