newbie(well kind of)

boybetterknow
boybetterknow Posts: 44
edited November 2007 in MTB beginners
hello all

thought it was time i posted up,after being registerd on here for few weeks now.im new to mtb,well kind of lol.i used to be big into it when i was 15 until i got the age of 17 where i sold my bike to buy my first car :oops: now im 25and i want to get back into it again.I used to have a handsomedog frame lol dont take the mick to much.basicly i bought the frame and built it up my self
i fitted rock shox judy 100s to it,magura brakes basicly built it how i wanted it,with parts i wanted to fit i did.that was 10 years ago,long time.I used to do bit of dh and xc plus bit of jumping/freeride.
now ive decided to get back into it i was thinking of building my own again instead of buying one,as its much more fun than just buying one already built etc.do you guys and girls think its best to do that or to buy one already built?any info or tips on building one would be great,as i realy want to get back into it,any info on this would be good.
I have few ideas on what frame i want etc for what type of riding i do its just the fram size?what will i need for the riding il be doing,im about 5ft 2.
thanks

Comments

• Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Custom building your own bike will be more expensive than an off the shelf bike, but it will be exactly what you want.

Speaking of which, what do you want to ride, XC, Trail, Freeride, DH, 4X, Jumps?

Parktools has a good site for 'how to fit/fix' bike parts.

http://www.parktool.com/repair/

Zinn & the Art Of Mountain Bike Maintenance is also a good book to buy if you need help away from the PC.
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • Welcome to the forum ace!
    Could buyin a bike off the shelf then sellin the bits you dont want be an option? Just an idea. Might be cheaper than buyin everythin seperate.Could sell the bits on here too instead of fleabay! Give em a good home :P .