Is my bike too big?

BikerBaz
BikerBaz Posts: 24
edited November 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

I am a complete novice to bikes in general, but I dislocated my knee a while back, so as I can't play football anymore I wanted a new sport to stay fit. Had been thinking about getting a bike for a long time, but once I decided I wanted to try mountain biking, that was it. I couldn't wait to get one.

Went into my local bike shop, took some advice and decided to go for the Mongoose Tyax Elite. The guy in the shop told me i'd probably want a medium, so that was that. But I made a boo-boo.

As much as I wanted to get it from my local shop I saw that I could buy it £50 cheaper mail-order. So I called them up but they didn't have medium, so I went large. Now i'm getting into it I have realised that you go smaller than other bikes and adjust the seat post accordingly. I'm 5'10". Should I have gone small? I guess I should have paid the extra £50, but that a lot of money to me.

If I stand over the bike I have about 3-4inches of clearance between the bar and my nuts. It doesn't feel over-sized, but as a novice I have no real frame of reference.

Am I going to hurt myself if I keep riding this monster. How will it effect my riding? I read a thread about bunny-hopping obstacles, and wonder if I will not be able to do this because my bike is too heavy? I feel a fool. Can anyone reassure me?

Sorry. In future my posts will be short, I promise!

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Three inches clearence is plenty, but there is more to it than that - ie reach. Its always best to try before you buy - I'd just ride it see how you get on.
  • shin0r
    shin0r Posts: 555
    If it feels ok, then it probably is!

I'm 5'10" too, and I couldn't decide whether to get a large or medium frame. In the end I went for a medium; it's a little lighter and I find it easier to flick about than a large. I'm used to BMX and it still feels massive though :)