GT Avalanche Pro

yorkshireone
yorkshireone Posts: 5
edited October 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

Well I just purchased my first bike in about 10 years, a 2006 GT Avalanche Pro. Got it for an absolute steal so I couldn't resist. Just wanted to get your thoughts on it really? Im a total newb when it comes to trail riding etc, but I was told that this was a fairly well specced bike and the Avalanche 1.0 Discs seem pretty well thought of...

SPEC

Frame GT Triple Triangle design 7005 Kinesis Superlite butted aluminum with pressure formed downtube, zero stack headtube. Disc compatible with removeable der. Hanger
Fork Rock Shock Recon 327 U-Turn
Crankset Truvativ STYLO TEAM 44,32,22 7050 forged arms w/outboard bearing system
Bottom Bracket Truvativ outboard oversized bearing
Pedals Crank Bros Candy
Front Derailleur New Shimano Deore LX
Rear Derailleur New Shimano Deore XT
Shifters New Shimano Deore LX
Rear Cogs SRAM Nine speed index cassette 12-32
Chain Shimano Nine Speed
Rims WTB Speed Disc
Tyres Tioga Yellow Kirin Front 26 x 2.3 / Blue Dragon 26 x 2.1 rear
Front Hub New Shimano Deore LX
Rear Hub New Shimano Deore LX
Brake Levers New Shimano Deore LX Hydraulic
Handlebar GT 6061 Butted Alum Adventure bar with 50mm rise and 7 degree bend
Saddle SDG New Bel Air

Your opinions? :)

Cheers
Jamie

Comments

• anyone? :(
  • clanton
    clanton Posts: 1,289
    Don't know the bike personally but had a look at the spec and it looks like pretty good value for money - hard wearing kit that will last.
  • jacktheoc
    jacktheoc Posts: 1,556
    yeh should last a while, good spec and excellent entry level bike
  • However, the frame will get scratched and scraped to buggery if you so much as look at it. Why can't bike manufacturers use decent hardwearing paint thesedays?

grr

Shipjack (disgruntled Avalanche owner)
  • dunker
    dunker Posts: 1,503
    bike sounds good to me! yeah mines getting chipped up a little but they're just battle scars i say.