Yet another newbie

KitsuneAndy
KitsuneAndy Posts: 164
edited October 2007 in MTB beginners
Hi,

Yet another newbie here, I'm Andy, live in Norwich and I've just bought my first MTB.

Picked up a Trek 4300 which seemed a good buy for my price range and I have to say that I am pretty happy with it. Needed something which would be fine for my daily commute to work but that would handle itself on a bit of off-road.

Chucked it around Thetford Forest a couple of times so far and am loving it. Might be a bad time of year to get into it, especially as we have no transport and have to take the bikes to Thetford by train, but nevermind. Just hope Anglia Rail don't mind muddy bikes!

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Hi Andy

Nice bike that, one of the lightest for the money, and a good choice for what you do.
  • supersonic wrote:
    Hi Andy

Nice bike that, one of the lightest for the money, and a good choice for what you do.

Figured I didn't want to spend a huge amount of cash before I knew just how far I was going to get into MTB'ing. And was pleasently surprised at just how nice the Trek feels. Gears can be a little clunky at times and I did find myself wondering if I should have paid the extra for the version with disc brakes at times this weekend...

My first intention is to get fit, while I'm not the least fit person in the world I could do with dropping a stone or two and figured cycling was much more enjoyable than the gym.

My missus has a 7 year old Muddy Fox Monarch Sport, which is extremely light and both bikes held their own on a few laps of one of the routes at Thetford this weekend. I know it's not the most technical of tracks down there, but we're both very much beginners...

We're going to see how it goes over the next 6 months - 1 year and decide if we want to spend more on bikes and take it a bit more seriously.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    i know folks who rate thetford simply because it isnt too difficult.