Help with training regimes?

MJDRAGON
MJDRAGON Posts: 35
edited September 2007 in Training, fitness and health
Hi all, i am new to training, nomrally i just go out on the bike and ride from between 20 miles to 40 but i havent been the most regular rider however i am starting to go out when ever i can now. I am 18, 12 1/2 stone(muscular build with heavy bones) and stand at 5'11 and still growing. Other people have said i am quite good and i can acceralate fast and described me as a 'hill climber'.

My cycling experience does not go very far, done 2 club runs however i have done the Tour of Flanders 100 mile route which i roughly did in 6:30hours this year however i did not but in hardly much training and suffered form bad cramps on the rides. So i am asking help from the vetran cyclists on how to train well for competing in 10,25 and maybe even 50TT? Ok thanks you very much.

Comments

• In broad terms you need to build up distance/regular cycling to get used to being on the bike, riding in all weathers etc. then/at the same time you need to focus specific traing on the events your interested in. This would probably involve interval training at or slightly above the effort level for the events - which vary considerably in distance.
    The details of your training should include enough rest, good nutrition etc.
    Hopefully someone can fill in the specifics here - but try to read/learn as much as you can from other sources too and do what feels right for you. There is so much information - but as with most subjects some of it is rubbish - and for a novice its gahrd to know teh differnce ....
    Good luck!
  • Ok thanks for your reply. So how many times a week is it best to go out? Also how is the best way to do interval training(how many metres do you do it for etc)?

Ok thanks alot for your time. :D
  • BeaconRuth
    BeaconRuth Posts: 2,086
    MJDRAGON wrote: