Winter wear

Mrs Toast
Mrs Toast Posts: 636
edited October 2007 in Women
Winter's fast approaching, and as a noob I simply haven't a thing to wear! What would people recommend for winter riding? I was thinking of a pair of cycling tights for under my baggy shorts, and a waterproof jacket - can anyone tell me what brands are good value (or rubbish).

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    For good value try Decathlon. The best approach is generally using layers - a base wicking layer, a choice of mid layer depending on temp, then a waterproof, windproof breathable jacket. This mix and match apporach can be used all year round and cuts down on buying lots of specific gear.
  • layers, lots of layers - i use 3 to 5 tops on the coldest days (thin, wool & wickaway type stuff - helly hanson long sleeved base layer is pretty warm) & baggies with leg warmers (not the fame kind). i generally dont bother with a waterproof unless its raining/windy, as it can get a bit too hot and sticky. can use a buff for the head over your ears under your helmet, winter gloves & wool socks.
    down south its normally t-shirt weather until january, so luckily dont really have to buy too much.
  • HJ1976
    HJ1976 Posts: 205
    Would you bother with trying to get 'female' specific things - I am about 5'10, size 16 but boobie so somethings are a bit tight! Should i stick to blokes sections?
  • In my experience large in womens sport clothing is 12-14 :roll:
  • Yes, I was slightly disconcerted to learn that women's sizing was as random in cycling clothes as it is on the high street. I looked at one brand's sizing chart, and a 10 was classed as large. Of course, they have meant a US 10, which is a UK 14, but that's still medium rather than large... :?
  • nickcuk
    nickcuk Posts: 275
    HJ1976 wrote:
    I am about 5'10, size 16 but boobie so somethings are a bit tight!

:shock: but aerodynamic
  • no offense but why on earth would a size as large as 14 be a medium?