Should my Fox RP2 be oily?

Father Faff
Father Faff Posts: 1,176
edited September 2007 in MTB workshop & tech
I'm not entirely convinced that the Fox RP2 on my Meta 5.5.1 should be oily and continue to be so after several months of riding, and I have to pump it up every now and again, and it had a bottom bush disintegrate within not very much time at all. Is this standard for Fox shocks and should I ask for a new shock considering the bike was new in May?

As for handling I never seem to have got this bike totally dialled in and it seems a bit "bouncy" at times whatever combination of rebound I have. Am I just being paranoid or is it that rear shock? I have no previous experience of full-sussers having previously had an Orange P7 hardtail with totally dry and firm short-travel Marzocchis on the front.
Commencal Meta 5.5.1
Scott CR1

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    should be a bit greasy but not oily.

when you say add air evey sooften how much?

greasy shock

img2007en5.th.jpg

dont forget that every time you connect the pump the presure drops 20-30 psi.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Every month or so it does with a top-up of maybe 20lbs. I'm quite heavy myself (83kg) and ride moderately rough stuff. Some people have told me they hardly ever have to top theirs up.
    Commencal Meta 5.5.1
    Scott CR1
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    20psi sounds just like the lose from the shock pump. or is this 20 on top of the 20-30 psi lose from just connecting the pump?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Nicklouse