Turbo trainer advice

Mark-one
Mark-one Posts: 3
edited September 2007 in Training, fitness and health
I am new to road biking and want to keep up my fitness during those cold winter months. I would really appreciate any advice on what I should be looking for when purchasing a Turbotraininer?

Comments

• Hi Mark One ,

i have used TACX turbos for ages clocking over 10,000 miles on one.Bear in mind that turbo miles have no correlation with road miles thoough.

if you are planning on doing more than 5 hours a week , i would get something like the tacx excel or i magic, these esp the I magic have loads of numbers and PC connectivity with routes etc.

the power readings you see though are not very accurate mind, but they are ideal for measuring progress abd a hour on the turbo on a frosty Janauary night listening to some banging tunes is nice --- sometimes.

also use a cheap hard tyre vittoria rubinos wired wear well and its fun seeing bits of rubber flying off !+ use a fan for cooling you'll sweat buckets.
  • Thanks Tramotane. Lots of good advice there. Is it true you shouldn't turbotrain for more than 1 hr at a time? Having never been on one I don't know how much punishment/heat generation they (or my wheel) can take.

Mark
  • Mark-one wrote:
    Thanks Tramotane. Lots of good advice there. Is it true you shouldn't turbotrain for more than 1 hr at a time? Having never been on one I don't know how much punishment/heat generation they (or my wheel) can take.

Mark

You can turbo train for as long as you can stand it Mark, but it's best to start off doing shorter sessions between 30+60 mins so you dont get bored too quickly using it.
    I did regular 2hr sessions over last winter, but this was music assisted - I couldn't have done it without.
  • mark one,

turbo trainers can be mind numbingly boring!.If you can rig up a TV +DVD you can watch films whilst you pedal away , tour stages on DVD have a habit of making you ride like you should be there!.