increase MAP or increase rideable % of MAP?

tramotane
tramotane Posts: 46
edited September 2007 in Training, fitness and health
Hi I have been using power tap for 6 months now , mainly to monitor my training progress I do a monthly ramp test :cry:

one thing that i'd like to know is will increasing my MAP (currently 410watts) be more productive than increasing my 20 min threshold power which is about 85% of my MAP(348)

if i could increase my MAP by 5% and maintain 85% for 20mins it would give me an extra 17watts which is a lot.

Any ideas or suggestions on how to increase MAP?.

Comments

• I take it you mean "increase your 20 minute power" rather than your "20 minute threshold power". Threshold is usually shorthand for Functional Threshold Power (FTP) which typically a 1 hour TT.

I believe if you work on your MAP/Vo2Max your 20 minute power should also increase. I'm sure someone will tell me I'm wrong :wink: To train this you should ride at between 106 to 120 percent of your FTP if you are using Coggan's system
    http://www.cyclingpeakssoftware.com/power411/levels.asp

I typically do 6 x 4 mins at VO2Max

Or you could try Ric's system
    http://www.cyclecoach.com/pageID-downloadPages-Calculate_your_MAP_zones.htm

On Ric's page you can enter some date into the form and it'll calculate your training zones. In fact why not enter your stuff in and post your results on this thread.

You also need to train at threshold. Typically 2x20 mins with 15 mins rest in between.

Bin
  • tramotane wrote:
    Hi I have been using power tap for 6 months now , mainly to monitor my training progress I do a monthly ramp test :cry:

one thing that i'd like to know is will increasing my MAP (currently 410watts) be more productive than increasing my 20 min threshold power which is about 85% of my MAP(348)

if i could increase my MAP by 5% and maintain 85% for 20mins it would give me an extra 17watts which is a lot.
    Quite possibly but it depends. (Don't you hate that :wink: )