Funny how...

homercles
homercles Posts: 499
edited September 2007 in The bottom bracket
...through no fault of your own - ahem :wink: - a straightforward new bike purchase totalling around £500 can suddenly end up being a much more involved and expensive business.

I've been eyeing up a road bike for a few months now and was waiting for the announcement of the cycle2work scheme before doing it. So in the interim I have a bright spark idea - cycling so much these days that I might as well ditch the gym membership, freeing up around £40 a month which can be sacrificed as cycle2work monthly payment. So suddenly the budget is up to around £750.

Then yesterday the scheme is announced and it's Halfords (ugh) and I'm crestfallen as don't fancy the idea of ordering in some other brand through them and associated hassle.

Then I see that Condor Cycles are affiliated to the Halfords scheme and as I work on Gray's Inn Road decide to investigate how easy it is to do through them. They explain I can just use the Halfords voucher there without having to involve the towbar salesmen and it's a result as it means I'm essentially buying from my LBS with all associated benefits if problems occur etc. Now here I am having had a browse at lunch and a chat with one of the staff, been smitten (with a bike, not the guy serving me) and in all likelihood I'm going to end up throwing £900 at a Condor Italia (EDIT: except I'm not because of the tax bonus stuff of course).

So you see, it wasn't my fault, OK?

Comments

• daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,577
    But after your tax saving it IS around £500, so jobs a serious goodun :D

And anyway, the more you spend, the more you save.

Dan
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18
  • Pagem
    Pagem Posts: 244
    sounds about right!