Lands End to John O'Groats - Advice Needed.

mikegtfc
mikegtfc Posts: 21
edited October 2007 in Tour & expedition
I know what you're thinking, how many of these threads have we seen? Right? If there is other threads similar, links to them would be more than welcome. I've started a thread in the beginners forum also, but I'll use this for other purposes.

Basically I'm doing the LEJOG in Summer 2008, I'm a student at Leeds University, looking for advice on the trip. I'm a bit of a novice, well, a lot of a novice.

I'd like to make it as scenic as possible but sticking to roads, seeing as many 'landmarks' as possible, historical places etc. If anyone has done the trip or local rides and can advice great places to stop off at, that'd be great. I'm a keen photographer so I'll be documenting my trip in photos as well as blogs and things.

Routes? Any advice. Stick to a designed one or design your own? I can see the fun in that but it could go wrong.

Bike? Tourer or road? Any advice from experience.

Camping? B&B? Hostel? What's the best option?

Thanks in advance, if anyone has MSN or can correspond in another way I'm more than willing to do that, it'd be a huge help and I'd appreciate it a lot.

Mike. :)

Comments

• How about this for a start. Decide how long you're going to take - 6 days/3 weeks etc. Choose an appropriate number of your 'must sees'
    Get a big map of whole of England/scotland and put pins/biro blobs on teh 'must sees'. Join them up with straight lines.
    Convert route to something closer to reality by transferring straight line route on to maps showing local roads - you can do this on the fly/once you've started cycling if you want more 'surprises'.
    I did this for a ride from Gibraltar to Skagen in Denmark. It worked really well, combined with a bit of local info from a forum about southern spain, and careful map reading to avoid potentially boring/dangerous roads.
    HAve fun !
  • I agree with ut..