£300 hardtail bikes

masondasyk
masondasyk Posts: 80
edited September 2007 in MTB beginners
hey ppl, lukin at bikes around £300-£370 tops and have no idea which to go for.want forks that will get me around until i upgrade for better ones .. im an xc`er but do 3 foot at max drops and same with jumps. any ideas.??
thanx..
if we need trees for the air we breathe..

then how come when we hit the tree it takes the air out of us??... ( trees...the selfish b***erds want it back!! )

Comments

• Torres
    Torres Posts: 1,266
    The Kona Fire Mountain fits your budget. Recently got one myself for XC'ing and so far it's held up really well. The frame is amazing, unfortunately that's where it stops. The forks aren't bad, 100mm of travel, adjustable preload, but that's it. Will get you around, but they are nothing amazing. The rest of the kit isn't the best, so some other upgrades may be needed, depending what you need.
    I'm quite new to the sport, so i've only done cross country runs so far, not tried any drops/jumps so i couldn't tell you if its any good for that type of riding.
    Although i own one i have to say, you probably can get better kit for your money.
    Happy hunting mate. :D
    What We Achieve In Life, Echoes In Eternity
  • thanx for the advice mate bt the bad things u pointed out are abit worrying but thanx anyways

then how come when we hit the tree it takes the air out of us??... ( trees...the selfish b***erds want it back!! )
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Read the waht bike thread in the buying section, at the top.

IMHO the Kona has a nice frame but really let down by spec at this price. Lowly drivetrain, and undamped fork are well below par, but it has potentiial.
  • nonnac85
    nonnac85 Posts: 1,608
    just got a spesh hardrock sport (hydraulic brakes) plus a few accesories (lizard skin for under chain and bottle cage) for £299 at evans.