Faux Pas?

Ieuanllan
Ieuanllan Posts: 152
edited August 2007 in Road beginners
I'm pretty new to road biking, and mainly just ride the to work and back, and occasionally go out for a thrash at the weekend, so bear with me!

Riding home from work today, I got overtaken by a guy who looked like a 'proper' cyclist (posh carbon bike, shaved legs etc!). He gave me some acknowledgement of my existence as he went past, but I didn't catch what he said.

I caught him at a red light, and we took the same road, him ahead of me. Having seen the way he steamed past me before, I expected him to disappear, pronto, but he didn't accelerate away, and I fell in behind him and ended up slipstreaming him for a few miles, until we went off in different ways. Having not said anything at all to each other.

I'm left wondering: Should I have taken the lead / offered to take the lead for a bit?
Did I annoy him, sitting on his wheel like a little fish with a shark?
Is it acceptable to sit in a stranger's slipstream without asking first or something?

Any opinions?
Apologies for the rambling post.

Comments

• If he was as good as you make him sound and he didn't want you sat on his back wheel he'd have had a go a burning you off - or at least that's what I sometimes do cycling round Cambridge :lol:

I've often found that round here the friendly decent cyclists that catch you up are quite happy to let you stick to them for a bit, often offering you a "tow" - if they want to sit on your back wheel after a while they'll tell you to have a go on the front.
    Has the head wind picked up or the tail wind dropped off???
  • baudman
    baudman Posts: 757
    Sometimes, you'll find that you can hang of the back of someone nice like this, but if you want to have a turn at the front you just can't push the wind like they can - so you end up riding slower and annoying them that way, or perhaps not even getting past them.