First MTB - decision time

andy81
andy81 Posts: 118
edited August 2007 in MTB beginners
I'm in the process of deciding which MTB to go for. Unfortunately I have to use Halfords to get the benefits of the Bikes4Work scheme, however I've narrowed it down to 3 models:

Saracen Mantra 1
Carrera Vulcan
GT Aggressor XC3

Being a beginner, I'm not up to speed on the merits of technical spec, so any advice would be most welcome. Price wise, they're all priced within around £10 of each other, so nothing to differentiate between them there.

Thanks

Andy

Comments

• ukcraigb
    ukcraigb Posts: 113
    I think I'm slowly turning into SuperSonic, but anyways, try them all and buy the one you like the most would be my advice.

And just to throw a spaner into the works I *think* (from reading other posts on the forum) halfords can order any bike in that you want for the Ride to Work thingy.
  • passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    GT are good value & ride well. Spend as much as you can - ideally over £400.

Get it seviced at a local bike shop when necessary.
    'Happiness serves hardly any other purpose than to make unhappiness possible' Marcel Proust.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    I'd avoid the Mantra, its a budget hardcore type thingy and weighs a good 6lbs more than the others.
  • andy81
    andy81 Posts: 118
    Having originally been looking at the bikes listed above, I popped into Halfords over the weekend adn realised that for an extra £20-30ish I could get an Aggressor XC2 or Carrera Kraken (both using the bikes for work scheme).

Obviously these two are better than the bikes I was originally looking at, the question is, as they would come to within £10 of each other, which is the better specced? I still have to pop down and try them, but knowing beforehand which is the better bike on paper would help.
  • Mrs Toast
    Mrs Toast Posts: 636
    Evans do the Ride2Work scheme, not sure if that's the same thing.