MTB FITNESS ADVICE ....PLEASE

paveway_3
paveway_3 Posts: 8
edited August 2007 in Health, fitness & training
Hey guys its been a while since I was last on this site. Right my drama is,I am really starting to enjoy my MTBing. I am a soldier and of course I need to keep fit.I had a really nasty knee injury last year playing rugby.I have recovered from this however where before I would run on most days,now I have been advised by my unit's doc to quit the running all the time. I am a big lad (about 16st) I have the time to train (the army are good like that).I was just wondering if any of the MTBers on this site have a few pointers for me ref fitness training.I know about working at a constant rate over 40 mins or so is the best for weight loss etc. I go out most days on my bike for up to 2 hours at a time ,this includes a few hills (up and down) .Basically I am on Operations next year ,I need to lose a bit more weight and to get fit. I know how to do it gym/running wise however due to my dodgy knee (and old age 35 ) most of my phys training will be on my German full sus enduro bike .Pleas ehelp me out with a few pointers and tips .I will never have a six pack but the clock is ticking and I dont want to get caught out by ''Tommy Taliban'' due to excess love handles.

Thanks in advance

Paveway_3
Riding around Osnabruck on my German MTB that nobody has ever heard of 2DANGER EDR full suss ,manitou minute,manitou swinger,Truvative bits and bobs with XT running gear.oh and Mavic rims

Comments

• I guess you are a bit of an odd case because of the level of physical activity you are doing, but my first thought is that you are already doing plenty of exercise, perhaps you need to restrict your calorie intake a little to lose weight faster. I wouldn't suggest any big changes, maybe try to reduce by 200 or so calories per day to begin with. How much do you actually need to lose, and how quickly ? By losing weight gradually it is more likely to stay lost.