Training programme advice needed to get up to fighting fit

expatbore
expatbore Posts: 53
edited September 2007 in Training, fitness and health
Hullo
I'm a relative newbie, and have recently been buidling up fitness around Richmond Park (2 laps on the MTB, 3 on the roadbike). I am 42yrs old, 83kg and do 3 laps (22 miles) in 1.07

What I want to do is get up to a level of fitness to be able to do the following:
- manage an endurance / cyclosportive (e.g. Etape) with a small amount of dignity
- do the South Downs Way on my MTB in September
- start low level competing

What I need is advice on a specific training programme - can anyone point me in the right direction? I have looked at books in Waterstone's/library but they give 'generic' advice about training rather than programme suggestions. :?:

Now these may be listed elsewhere on this site - but I haven't found them. I'm sure any suggestions would be of interest to a wider audience too....

Thanks in advance :!:

Comments

• binlinus
    binlinus Posts: 305
    How much are you currently riding? How many times a week, for how long and what intensity? Do you do any other sport or exercise?

Bin
  • nmcgann
    nmcgann Posts: 1,780
    How much time can you dedicate to training per week?

Neil
    --
    "Because the cycling is pain. The cycling is soul crushing pain."
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Hi Expatbore

To ride a sportif or the South Downs Way, you'll mainly need endurance - this comes down to hours on the bike in training. The Etape itself is a very tough event and even to make the time limits, you will need to put in a fair bit of training but there are loads of UK sportifs that go from fairly easy to as tough as the Etape. http://www.cyclosport.co.uk has a list of all the UK events.