Chain Care

CS91
CS91 Posts: 16
edited August 2007 in MTB beginners
I'm looking for a bit of advice, after a ride the other i checked the bike over and noticed a small amount of what looked like rust, presumabley from being put away whilst wet... Is there anything i can do to reduce or prevent this....?

Thanks
CS91... :P

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    after a wet ride you could wipe the chain with a cloth and reapply lube, or for a quicker (lazier?) approach, spray the chain with GT85 (not WD40) at the end of a wet ride, and re-lube before next ride.

Also, what lube do you use? For wet weather conditions use a wet/winter lube - they are a bit messier but stay on longer, dry summer lubes can get washed off even during a single wet ride.
  • CS91
    I'm lube free :P ... I was hoping someone on here could reccomend any decent chain lubes...? I'm a complete novice with anything bike related, so i appologise for any stupid questions...
  • alfablue
    I currently use Prolink Progold and it is excellent.
  • CS91
    thank you...! how often should i lube my chain..?
  • alfablue
    I get away with weekly applications, but more often if I cycle in the wet.
  • beski
    beski Posts: 542
    Pedros Extra Dry is a good dry lube, Finish Line Wet good for...wetter conditions!
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • CS91
    I've got another simple question... how should i clean my bike after a mucky ride..? i had been hosing it of then wiping it dry with an old towel... is this ok..?

Thanks
    Charlie
  • alfablue
    Yes that's about it really - The easiest is to spray with Muc Off first and wait 30 seconds, then the mud hoses off really easily.

Otherwise use a hose under gentle pressure and use a washing up type brush to get mud out of the nooks and crannies.

Get some microfibre dishcloths (about 80p each from Tesco etc) and towel dry frame and other parts you can wipe easily.