Cycling and Asthma

acr
acr Posts: 53
Hi Folks,

Just wondering how many of us in the cycling fraternity are asthmatics ? I'm one, excercise induced but seems to be getting worse so they gave me the brown inhaler....grrrr! I read somewhere that cycling can improve lung capacity (?) and is therefore a positive thing for asthmatics. Am interested in your experiences, not for research or anything scientific, just interest ie. do you take the blue inhaler before heading out or take it as and when, and does asthma interfere with your cycling in any way etc....

Ta,

Ade

Comments

• Dr_Death
    Dr_Death Posts: 1,262
    A good friend of mine (also a doc) has exercise induced asthma and finds that taking his blue inhaler before exercise helps keep it at bay for longer..... Just his experience though.
    Steve

Trust me, I'm a doctor!

http://www.vimeo.com/DrDeath
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    I used to have to stop and take an inhaler after around 15 minutes riding, don't any more because I've learned to control my breathing more and got fitter too.

My peak flow readings have gone up over 100 L/min on the EU scale thingy in the last year, and is now not far below what it should be, so I'm doing quite well. :)
  • I also get excercise induced asthma and my doc has put me on Serotide (think that's right) which is a combination of the brown & blue giving 12 hours of ventolin.

You can still use the ventolin and he has also recommended I do this before cycling.

My peak flow was down to 450 - should be 625 - but has increased to 550-ish by using the Serotide.

The only thing I find with both the Serotide and Becotide is that it seems to affect my throat (husky voice).

If you use Becotide it may be worth getting a spacer to pump the stuff in before inhaling?