First Bike £250 - £450

scoobied
scoobied Posts: 6
edited August 2007 in MTB beginners
God knows there are enough of these threads but I'm totally and utterly confused - I am a complete and utter novice in regards to modern bikes but I discovered when I borrowed a bike to ride the new forest that I enjoy riding bikes. I've discovered trails/single track, and I may even commute to work on this at the moment mythical bike.
I'd like a hard tail. I'd like if possible disc brakes. I'd like it not to be easily broken! Sadly I'd also like it to have a black frame or at worst silver - I can't stand these garish things that remind me of shell suits. I'd prefer to avoid halfords! (Although the carrera fury is tempting despite the thread regarding tyre issues). Claud butler d 27 looks interesting but I'm willing to look at anything anyone suggests.
Finally I'm 6ft 2

Comments

• nutcp
    nutcp Posts: 169
    Singlespeed. Yes, I know it seems like a totally silly idea. The duvet seemed like a silly idea when we were still all wasting time making beds 'hospital style' with crisply starched sheets and itchy wool blankets. The microwave was a silly idea when we heated soup in a pan. Digital cameras were a silly idea when we were all getting along fine with film. Singlespeed - believe me. This is the better way!

Why singlespeed?
    Simple machine with no complex choices - just pedal and go
    Lower maintenance with nothing much to break or malfunction
    Lighter/better for the money
    The bike will actually last well
    Develops fitness and skills
    Provides a more rewarding experience
    It's actually no more difficult than gears - but dn't tell anyone because...
    Everyone thinks you're super fit when you ride one!
    You can get one together for a few quid - Google search for all the necessary info