Spesh Hardrock Sport Disc (Hydro) v Mongoose Tyax Elite

frogbad
frogbad Posts: 32
edited July 2007 in MTB beginners
I am in a real dilema, I am planning to buy myself a new bike in the nxt few days.

I currently ride a Giant Boulder, which is fine for fireroads etc, but not for the 7 Stanes routes which I would like to be able to have a go at. (I live 10 minutes away from Kirroughtree and 20 mins from Glentrool). I am a complete beginner as far as off roadin is concerned, as most of my riding has been contained to road, towpath or fireroad.

So I have been looking mainly at the Mongoose Tyax Elite, which I see is getting lots of good reviews and positive comments, and also the Specialized Hardrock Sport with Hydro discs. There is £100 difference between the two.

The geometry is much the same on the two bikes, and so are the components, with the exception being that the Spesh has dodgy forks.

Whilst I will not have money to upgrade right away, which bike wil be the better longer term investment. Would I be correct in assuming that the Spesh has the better and more durable frame? I am a big lad being 5'11" and 15 and a half stone.

Anyone able to offer any helpful advice?

Comments

• frogbad
    Has no-one any views or comments which may help me in making a decision?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    I am fairly sure that you will never put either frames anywhere near their limits! Its difficult to compare two bikes like this, but I do feel that the Goose does offer the better overall package. Of course you must test them both: the ace in the pack with the tyax is its damped and adjiustable fork. This offers much greater control on the rough stuff, and I feel at this price is just as important as the frame.

I'll make no bones about it: I think all the Spesh Hardrocks are over priced and under specced, and definitely far too heavy.
  • frogbad