Calculating heart rate monitor zones

NewburyRider
NewburyRider Posts: 19
edited August 2007 in Training, fitness and health
I use a heart rate monitor for my running training very successfully - my maximum heart rate (220 - age) is 185, giving an aerobic zone (70 - 80% of max) of 130-150 and when I run I can maintain my heart rate in this zone with no difficulty. After suffering an injury after cycling too hard last week I decided to use my HRM to moderate my cycle training. I took it out today and found that at what I considered a fair pace my rate was around 125 (except on steep hills when it got up to 157). It seems that I was finding that lactic acid was starting to build up before my heart rate got very high - should I have different training zones for cycling or am I just a less fit cyclist that I am a runner?

Comments

• sebcp
    sebcp Posts: 12
    You should have completely different HR zones for cycling and running.
    I've been training with a HR for 10 months for an ironman and used HR zones for both. You should do a lactate threshold test for each which gives you your average and then use an online calculator ( I can supply you one) to get your HR zones. As a rule of thumb, cycling zones are 10bpm lower than running. I just did the running LT test as I couldn't face the bike one. They are tough and I chucked up twice doing the run one.

When you look at zone calculators in different places they all differ very slightly. I looked at 2 from the same person (I think it was Joe Friel in 'The Longest Day' about Ironman training) and that gave slightly different results.
  • What HR Zones do people use? I've seen a couple of different ones and want to know what everybody else thinks/uses.

I'm not into competitions and the only one I've ever used is this one;
    <b>Zone %MHR   Description</b>
     1   60-65  Easy Riding, recovery training 
     2   65-70  Endurance base training
     3   70-80  Aerobic capacity training