Advice for long distance tour training

elinfoot
elinfoot Posts: 13
edited December 1969 in Training, fitness and health
Hi folks!

This summer I'm planning on doing a long distance tour from the south of france to the south of spain in 3 weeks with a friend of mine.At the moment I commute 100miles a week to and from work.We're planning on doing approximately 70 miles a day which I've never done before.
How could I train to be able to do this distance everyday with out being too knackered? If I can increase my speed (I get to work in 35minutes normally) as well then so much the better

Thanks
Eric

Comments

• vernonlevy
    vernonlevy Posts: 969
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by elinfoot</i>

Hi folks!

This summer I'm planning on doing a long distance tour from the south of france to the south of spain in 3 weeks with a friend of mine.At the moment I commute 100miles a week to and from work.We're planning on doing approximately 70 miles a day which I've never done before.
    How could I train to be able to do this distance everyday with out being too knackered? If I can increase my speed (I get to work in 35minutes normally) as well then so much the better

Thanks
    Eric
    <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

You'll be surprised at how easy it is to sustain 60 - 70 miles per day at a moderate speed - say 10 mph.

It only gets hard if you turn the tour into a race.

Get some weekend rides in at the 50 miles per ride mark and once or twice a week add 10 - 15 miles to your commute i.e. set off an hour and a half earlier for work or take longer to come home.

You could try buying Simon Doughty's book The Long distance Cyclist's Handbook and take some guidance from that.