Triathlon

jonmitchell26
jonmitchell26 Posts: 9
edited July 2007 in Road beginners
Hi, I was wondering if anyone here is involved in Tri at all? I am just starting out and am in the process of purchasing bike. If anyone has any tips on where i might get good affordable introduction bike that would be great. Also i realise this is probably a stupid question but on the bike stage do i need to where my running shoes to make the transition quick or would people generally wear cycling shoes and change for the running leg??

Comments

• simbil1
    simbil1 Posts: 620
    Hi Jon,

Most triathletes will use proper bike shoes and then change into runners. The advantages offered by clipping in far outweigh the time in transition even in a sprint triathlon.
    The bike really depends on your budget. If you are on a tight budget, getting a basic road bike and adding good wheels, SPD pedals and a cheap aero bar would be fine. The more you spend, the smaller the gains in performance generally, BUT you notice every performance benefit so you will want to spend as much as you can :)

http://picasaweb.google.com/thefirstsimbil/Bikes
  • Hi
    Thanks for the swift response. I will look into shoes now. I have shortlisted the following 2 bikes (I think).

Specialized Allez 16 - 2007
    Trek 1000 - 2006

What would you reckon? Do you think as a complete novice i would be able to tell the difference between the 2? The Trek is œ100 cheaper so i am leaning that way but dont want to be tight if it means i miss out on something that will benefit me.

Thanks again!
  • simbil1
    simbil1 Posts: 620
    If you could manage œ600 - this would be a good start:
    http://wiggle.co.uk/ProductDetail.aspx? ... 5360026040

Otherwise the Trek would be alright to get you started. Not sure about the Allez 16 though.