Shoulder and upper back tightness

Colin Watts
Colin Watts Posts: 53
edited June 2007 in Road beginners
Since I started riding to work this year I have found that I end up with tight shoulders and upper back, lots of knots that need (and kneed) loosening up. I do try to massage these while I am sitting at my desk in work, but idealy I'd like any tips that people can give me about avoiding it happening.
I do try to keep my shoulders relaxed during my ride but over the 1.5 hours they tend to creep up and I periodically have to make a point of relaxing them again.
Other than trying to remember to relax my shoulders while riding can people recommend any stretches that I should do when I finish, I do some for my legs and I need to do something similar of my shoulders.

Thanks for any advice.

Colin

Comments

• crackle
    crackle Posts: 216
    If you're suffering with tight shoulders and neck I'd suggest your position needs adjusting. Have you tried adjusting it? For instance raising the bars slightly. Sounds like you're a tadge stretched. I also get this on my mountain bike where the bars are wider and I'm stetched forward as well. The position used to suit me some years ago but doesn't anymore. Whereas on my road bike, recently bought, I don't get it at all.

Other than that, the usual suggestion are vary your hand positions to relieve pressure etc.. but that only works if the initial position is correct for you in the first place.

Errrrrrmmmmmm..........
  • morgs2001
    morgs2001 Posts: 159
    I suffered from the same problems ,
    it is most likely positioning.
    I flipped the stem over to raise the handlebars a touch and played about with saddle height .Now I dont have any problems .Doing decent distances without back problems.
    I suggest going to your lbs and ask them if they will fit you for your bike.

all the best
  • McBain_v1
    McBain_v1 Posts: 5,237