Can't climb out of the saddle.

Hi,

also posted in know how..

I have a large hill to climb on the way home. I can climb it ok seated, but when I try to get out of the saddle to go a bit quicker I find I can't do this for more than a few peddle strokes. What do I need to stregthen to allow me to do this, example exercises would be helpful too.

cheers,

Rich (A commuter at last)

Comments

• Pete Beer
    Pete Beer Posts: 604
    I returned to cycling after a long break and found the same. I've been riding fixed gear for the last 18 months. I can now climb. It's just forcing yourself out of the saddle by choosing hills that won't allow you to sit.
  • it's quite annoying as I used to cycle everywhere until I was 19 and got my first car and everything was easy. Now a little older (37) and getting back in to it my body can't do what my mind wants it to lol.....

cheers,

• Ken Night
    Ken Night Posts: 2,005
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Rykard</i>

I have a large hill to climb on the way home. I can climb it ok seated, but when I try to get out of the saddle to <b>go a bit quicker </b>I find I can't do this for more than a few peddle strokes. <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

that's your problem-going quicker is taking you over the red line, hence not being able to sustain it.

To practice, find a gear that you can comfortably climb the hill it, and drop into one gear higher, and climb the hill at a pace you can sustain. You'll still be whacked at the top, but do it several times and you should see an improvement

<font size="1">"I once prayed to God for a bike, but quickly found out he didnt work that way...so I stole a bike and prayed for his forgiveness"
    </font id="size1">
    “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best..." Ernest Hemingway
  • domtyler