What to wear and look respectable!!!

flinni
flinni Posts: 6
edited June 2007 in Workshop
Hello peeps,

I've just bought a new hybrid and although I'm not new to cycling, I'm fairly new to the whole 'cycling club' / 'cycling in a group' thing. My question is; what is the most appropriate cycling clothing to wear in summer for daily town/city commutes and weekend leisure rides with the missus. I live in Warrington and work in Manchester, so over the top pink lycra is likely to result in a kicking (or stoning depending on how fast you peddle) from the local Burberry chavs. At the same, I need something that is appropriate for road riding in the hot summer months. Obviously tops/shirts are ok, but it's the shorts I'm concerned about. What do people recommend? Bibs, shorts, all-in-ones etc.. etc.. Any ideas on what is comfortable and understated?

Thx

Iain

Comments

• Definately a skinsuit - and make sure you shave your legs as well. All that sprinting to get away from the townies will soon whip you into shape....

Seriously though - most cyclists wear tight lycra because it is the most comfortable. It keeps you dry (ish) in the heat - doesn't rub anywhere and doesn't flap about. Bib shorts are good beacuse they don't slide down at the back so keep you covered up.

If you are worried about looking silly then there are mountain bike shorts out there which are baggy and look like 'normal' shorts. Just go with whatever you are happiest wearing.

It's ALL about the bike.
    Put me back on my bike...

t' blog: http://meandthemountain.wordpress.com/
  • nun
    nun Posts: 434
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by flinni</i>

Hello peeps,