Pantour suspension hubs

pollyplum
pollyplum Posts: 18
edited December 1969 in Workshop
I suffer with rheumatoid arthritis and have noticed if I ride for more than half an hour I get problems with my wrists and shoulders. I have switched my bikes grips to ERGO's with bar ends and they have improved things a lot. I am now considering changing the front hubs to Pantour Suspension hubs :-
http://www.kinetics.org.uk/html/pantour_hubs.shtml

Are there any problems with these and are they any good?

I would appreciate any advice.
Cheers

Comments

• Cunobelin
    Cunobelin Posts: 11,792
    I have no experience myself, mainly because I cannot understand how these work!

Lookingat the videos I would have thought that the wheel movement would cause problem with brake alignment.

However Ben has his head screwed on with bike parts and they sell enough hubs to have been around for some years, so it must work.

There does seem to be a love them or loathe them split on opinions.

I have linked two discussions from a Recumbent website:

http://www.bentrideronline.com/messageb ... ht=pantour

Thers is also discussion on the "BromptonTalk" Yahoo Group:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/BromptonT ... ISO-8859-1

You will have to sign up for Yahoo Groups to read this though.

Hope this is of help.

One quick query hough - what are you riding?

It would be cheaper to buy a low - mid range suspension fork such as the Rockshox or Marzocchi at about œ150 than the pantour hubs. Don't forget you are also going to add wheel build costs to your hub.

<b><i>He that buys land buys many stones.
    He that buys flesh buys many bones.
    He that buys eggs buys many shells,
    But he that buys good beer buys nothing else.</b></i>
    (Unattributed Trad.)
    (Unattributed Trad.)
  • pollyplum
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Cunobelin</i>