Chain breaking...

Portnoy
Portnoy Posts: 175
edited June 2007 in Road general
I read Sheldon Brown's article on fixed wheel bikes and one of his warnings is that if the chain snaps it can somehow wrap around the rear sprocket causing the back wheel to lock, leading to potential disaster.

However, I've mentioned this to a few people and they say it's nonsense. anyone have any experience of this?

Comments

• I did have a problem today but it may be my fault. I am new to the fixed wheel generally using the single speed option (I have a fixed/single speed flip flop) for my commute but I went for a 30 mile spin today using the fixed option. I was getting on well and really enjoying it but coming downhill trying not to use the brakes just my pedals the chain jumped off the sprocket and wrapped around it locking the wheel scraping the frame and damaging the chain so that I needed to lose a link to get home. As I said it might be my inexperience. I will also post on the fixed topic.
  • Tom753
    Tom753 Posts: 737
    I would say if a chain broke the result would be unpredictable, but as the sprocket will continue to spin, it's probable that the chain will wrap around the sprocket or axle to some extent and lock up the wheel.

Anyway it's not something I'd worry about as long as you keep your chain well maintained, chains usually break because they haven't been joined properly or they're worn out, not because they're not strong enough.

Also chains shouldn't come off either, if it does then it's too loose!

<font color="black"><div align="right"><i><font size="1"><font face="Comic Sans MS"> My fixed bike </font id="Comic Sans MS"></font id="size1"></i></div id="right"></font id="black">
  • hazeii
    hazeii Posts: 233
    Pretty unlikely to have a problem if the chain breaks; on the other hand if it falls off the front ring life can get interesting.
  • Canrider
    Canrider Posts: 2,253