the pains of performance

Hello

Ive recently been taking part in some australian pursuits...what a fantastic experience it is and Im loving it. Towards the latter end of the race though I get a few odd aches and pains which Ive never had before.

Firstly I get numb toes which from looking through various articles and forums seems to be pressure on the nerve in the foot which makes sense however, what Im not sure of is why it only happens in a pursuit?

Secondly I got a sharp shooting pain up the front of my leg again after a good hrs worth of racing, I suspect this could be to do with position as I had a new seatpost and set it a tad high prior to the race, Ive not raced since so cant say yay or nay to that one..anyone got any thoughts ??

Comments

• Im no expert, but youve hiked your seat height up and not eased yourself into getting used to the position before chucking yourself round on the bike. It might not be the reason for your pain, but it could be. Youve stretched your muscles out longer than theyre used to, and now youre bashing round at full tilt, putting a lot of strain on them, which, with hard racing, might already be pushing the recovery limit.

I thought I saw your name on a loaf of bread this morning, but when I looked again it said thick cut

Jam butties, officially endorsed by the Diddymen Olympic Squad
  • could try getting some Spesh BG insoles, apparently these have a metatarsal button which spreads the metatarsal bones and prevents the nerves being trapped.
  • Fab Foodie
    Fab Foodie Posts: 5,155
    Hi Bernie
    Where abouts are you doing the Aussies?
    They're great fun, but I don't think many clubs do them?

The pessimists of this world are rarely disappointed....
    Fab's TCR1

Fab's TCR1
  • Its run under the banner of TLI up in Northumberland One every week from late april onwards to End Aug, some superb courses too!

I hope theres a pub at the top of this hill
  • chriswcp
    chriswcp Posts: 1,365