OT maths problem

bonescp
bonescp Posts: 181
edited June 2007 in Workshop
what are the odds of tossing a coin and getting 10 heads in row,
this is a friendly arguement at work someone said it was 50 50 but this didnt sound right to me .ive looked on the maths forums but this only got more confussing.

john

Comments

• 1 in 1024 by recockoning.

The chance each time is one in two = 0.5. Then you have ten separate independent trials so the chance of all being heads is 0.5 to the power 10 = 1/1024.
  • natureboyz
    natureboyz Posts: 82
    50/50
    No other factors come into it.
  • Bones,

Every time you toss a coin, the probability of getting a 'Head' P(H)=0.5. Similarly the probability of getting a 'Tail' , P(T)=0.5

The probability of getting 10 Heads in a row is P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)x P(H)

which is 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 x 0.5 = 0.0009765635 or 1 in 1024

Apologies I am a very sad former statistician!

pme is correct.
    You could "prove" it by writing out all 1024 combinations;

HHHHHHHHHH
    HHHHHHHHHT
    HHHHHHHHTH
    HHHHHHHTHH

and so on.
    Enjoy!
  • Two sheds
    Two sheds Posts: 446
    Just to add to the confusion...your friend might be talking about conditional probability. If you've tossed a coin and got 9 heads in a row, then the odds of making it 10 in a row are 50:50. The coin has no memory.

Put a hump in your back
    Shake your sacroiliac
    And ride on
    Put a hump in your back
    Shake your sacroiliac
    And ride on
  • Mister Paul
    Mister Paul Posts: 719
    natureboy is wrong.

Look at it with two. You get the following possible combinations-

HH
    HT
    TH
    TT

So you've got a 1 in 4 chance of getting two consecutive heads. Keep going like this and you get the 1/1024 with 10 throws.

• natureboyz
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Mister Paul</i>