Best œ300ish commuter bike?

monoi
monoi Posts: 8
edited December 1969 in Commuting chat
Hello all,

I've been commuting on my mountain bike on and off for about five years now. It's pretty much worn out, and I've started to commute more seriously, so I need a new bike.

My journey is about 5 miles each way, pretty flat except for a couple of fairly gentle hills. It's mostly on the road or on a "cycle path", with the latter involving bumping up and down a few kerbs.

The things that annoy me the most about my current bike are:-

- It's too heavy, and it's too slow, even with slick tyres on. The entire journey takes me 30 mins. I want it to take 20 mins.
- It hasn't got a rack or panniers, and carrying all my work shoes and clothes in a rucksack makes my back hot and tired.
- The rear cassette is crap, and the chain regularly drops off onto the axle, leaving me with oily hands.
- When I get into traffic on the straight, I can't pedal as fast as I want to (i.e. the pedals are just spinning).

I don't care what it looks like. I'm not bothered about suspension or anything like that. I would prefer low maintenance, but I suspect that hub gears are out of my price bracket, and setting up Derailleur gears isn't the end of the world. I have secure storage at home and work, so I'm not bothered about thieve-ability.

I want to spend about œ300, but I'd probably go a bit more for something that I'd appreciate.

What should I buy?

Ben.

Comments

• Tariq
    Tariq Posts: 55
    Hi Ben,