Do I really need a workstand?

rrsodl
rrsodl Posts: 486
edited June 2007 in Workshop
Hello,

I'm new to bike maintenance and I think I'm going to need a workstand to do the maintenance of my bikes.

I hope to learn, as I go along, how to repair/adjust/change parts and hopefully I don't make a mess of things [:D]

I have staterted with cleaning my bike and cleaning the chain.... for that purpose I got myself a Chain Cleaning System which does help but I think a workstand would have come very handy indeed [:)]

I am not keen on turning the bike outside down to perform the cleaning so I found the job a little more difficult than it should be.

What workstand would you recomend for a price of œ60 or less?

Thanks

Comments

• Cyclistm
    Cyclistm Posts: 758
    Workstands make life a lot easier, although using an old rear tyre to hole the rear wheel of the ground is much easier if you can hang it off of something like a washing machine or garage rafters,

the cheapest workstands are those that lift the rear wheel off the ground and are a good compromise - but fiddly if you need to grease headsets or change forks.
  • Aidocp
    Aidocp Posts: 868
    RRSODOL,

I use one of the rear seat stay stands a Minoura 500, I think it was under œ20 from the lbs. Its nice and portable and allows for easy storage of the bike too as well as a workstand. Its not always the most stable on a rough garage floor, but I see they've brought out the 510. I usually support my bikes by their left hand seatstay (non drive side) as its most stable, fine for chain cleaning, however to spin the wheel (gear maintenance) I need to support the bikes on the other side. Its got me by for basic maintenance but as Cyclistm its a bit fiddly for other maintenance, for example taking the rear 700mm wheel off.

If I had a baby elephant, who would take it for walks?
  • CraigUKcp
    CraigUKcp Posts: 1,209