Standing pedalling technique?

bungle73
bungle73 Posts: 758
edited November 2018 in Road beginners
Now, I am by no means new to cycling - I've been doing it for years. But what I am new at is pedalling while standing up, which I've only recently started doing. What I'd like to know is this: is there any discernible benefit to the swinging of the bike from side to side part? ATM I'm only standing and pedalling while the bike keeps upright beneath me. The swinging the bike from side to side part I'm finding hard to co-ordinate.

Also, I'm not sure if I'm doing it in the correct gear. I'm not sure if my feet are spinning too fast to be able to easily swing the bike at the same time. However it does seem the correct gear for the way I am doing it atm. Changing up a further gear makes turning the pedals too hard.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Why would you want to swing the bike about?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • bungle73
    cooldad wrote:

Because that is what they tell you to do?
  • photonic69
    photonic69 Posts: 2,416
    Bungle73 wrote:
    cooldad wrote:

Who tells you? The voices in your head? If so just ignore them. They are hopelessly unreliable and prone to making things up :wink:

Sometimes. Maybe. Possibly.

• bungle73
    PhotoNic69 wrote:
    Bungle73 wrote:
    cooldad wrote:

Who tells you? The voices in your head? If so just ignore them. They are hopelessly unreliable and prone to making things up :wink:

GCN, amongst others. And if you look at any of their presenters, or videos of anyone else, that is what they are doing
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,298