Gravel capable tyres - 28c

craigus89
craigus89 Posts: 887
edited October 2018 in Road buying advice
Currently restoring a couple of vintage steel road bikes for me and the Mrs to be used as short distance commuters, general pub bikes with occasional tow/canal path usage, looking for tyre recommendations that will cope with this. Preferably 28s.

They will mainly be for road use but would like to be able to use them off-road and have slightly better protection without compromising too much on weight and rolling resistance (looking at you Marathon's).

I see that the Panaracer Gravel King is highly recommended, just wondered if there was a slightly more budget friendly option? I've no experience with this type of tyre so open to suggestions.

Suggest Gator's and I'll put a curse on you.

Comments

• joe_totale-2
    joe_totale-2 Posts: 1,333
    Tubeless an option? If so then Hutchinson Sector 28's.
    If not then probably the Gravel Kings or Specialized Roubaix Pro's would be the best option.
  • Just a heads up to say that Panaracer are included in Merlin's current 10% automatic tyre discount when added to your basket, makes Gravel Kings ~£26.50 each.

I ordered some bits late last night when I was way beyond bedtime and I'm already wondering if I should have got a pair of these and perhaps a pair of the Gravel King SKs, not to mention I wonder if I should have bought a pair of Hutchinson All Season 11 Storms for ~£60 to try tubeless on my Hunt wheels.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • craigus89
    Not really looking to go tubeless as the wheels are old and I don't really want the faff. Would rather stick with clinchers.
  • chippyk
    chippyk Posts: 529