Cannondale Saeco Refurbishment

Aaronpearce
Aaronpearce Posts: 5
edited June 2018 in Road beginners
Cannondale Saeco Refurbishment

I have been riding a 90’s Cannondale Saeco for the past 3 years and the groupset is knackered so I have decided to refurbish the bike. The frame is in good condition and I have been told by a couple of people they are great frames so I would be better fixing it up than buying a new bike.

The current groupset is Shimano 105 2x9 speed; the levers, cassette, chain and headset all definitely need replacing and I imagine the rest is nearing the end of its life. I think the current wheels (they say nova on them but I know no more) can probably take 10 speed but not 11 speed but I am not sure.

I have been considering upgrading to a second hand 9 speed tiagra groupset or potentially buying new wheels and getting an 11 speed groupset. Is this worthwhile? I don’t race and it doesn’t particularly worry me have an extra 1 or 2 gears but if there are other advantages I am all ears.

My budget for the refurb is £200 – 300 with slight flexibility. I intend on doing all the work myself and am pretty much novice at bike mechanics anything greater than adjusting brake/gears maybe changing a chain but I love learning how to do it all.

Specifically I would like to know which groupsets and wheels would work well together and provide good value. Please can someone offer some good advice.

Thank you for helping.

Comments

• Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Keep the bike. They are wonderful and retro and soooooo cool.

Strip all that old rubbish off it.

Full 11 speed groupset, deep carbon rims, polish the feck out of it.

It's more than worth it as they are so cool.

Stuff the budget.

Post piccies immediately please.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote: