Numb rear. Saddle, shorts or both?

ajdobbin
ajdobbin Posts: 41
edited February 2018 in Road beginners
I’m fairly new to road cycling and have gradually been building my distances over the last 3 months. Did my first 100km yesterday (the routes in Cornwall are never flat!).

I have been noticing recently that when I get around the 3 hours of riding time my rear gets quite uncomfortable, numb and achy. I don’t suffer from saddle sores (luckily) but it’s just the dull pain throughout my nether regions that is almost becoming painful at longer distances.

Is this more likely to be a saddle issue (fairly cheap saddle that came with my bike, Selle Italia Q-bik) or a bib short issue (DHB Aerons)

If you could recommend shorts/saddles for longer distances that would be even better as I’ve signed up for a couple of 100 mile sportive next year.

Thanks

Comments

• navrig2
    navrig2 Posts: 1,844
    No-one can give you absolute advice on this.

Saddles and shorts and comfort are a very personal thing. Mostly all you can do is experiment and hope to find the right combination of clothing, saddle and riding position. Time in the saddle will help get your backside conditioned. Standing up on the move will help keep the blood flowing. Avoid soft saddles, generally.

Firstly you need to make sure that your bike set up is right. That includes the angle or level of the saddle. Once you are satisfied that is right then try different saddles.
  • Navrig2 wrote:
    No-one can give you absolute advice on this.

Saddles and shorts and comfort are a very personal thing. Mostly all you can do is experiment and hope to find the right combination of clothing, saddle and riding position. Time in the saddle will help get your backside conditioned. Standing up on the move will help keep the blood flowing. Avoid soft saddles, generally.