Group set should all match?

Olpallix
Olpallix Posts: 4
edited September 2017 in Road beginners
Hello everyone
Ive been cycling for only about 5 months
So I'm really not clued up. I have a trek 7.3 bought new. And a sabbath road bike bought used 1 month ago bit of an expensive mistake. I am selling it as I don't get on with road bikes. And will probably sell my trek too to get a better used hybrid. I only do 14miles to work
My question is seeing as I'm selling the sabbath is wether or not it has been tampered with. As it's only now that I'm selling that I've realised that crank is ultegra with shifters too and dérailleur and brakes are 105. Is that original to have mixed models? I have written to sabbath but had no answer
Also ion another note. The gears skip in the middle. I have to click again for it to select that gear. I was told it was the cassette or chain. Could this be true or just an adjustment?
Cheers

Comments

• It's not ununsual for components across groupsets from a single manufacturer to be mixed. If you go to the Shimano Europe website you can check the compatability of each individual component with others from across the range.

As for gears skipping, it could be wear mismatch between cassette and chain although I'd expect it to occur across the cassette or it could be alignment. Without the opportunity to tinker with it it's hard to be certain.

BTW, what Sabbath are you selling?
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,243

BTW, what Sabbath are you selling?

Paranoid, original 1970 vinyl
    left the forum March 2023
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Could be a part ungraded groupie, part down graded or just come like that. Wouldn't really worry about the parts I'd get it all working properly first.

If you do want it all the same as its older stuff it's all available second hand for pennies - whack it on, new cables, set it up so it works, job jobbed. Tidy.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote: